Film review quarterly: 2013 Q3

6 Oct

My Q2 review didn’t get as much traction on Google as Q1. Disappointing. But I’m still doing it. I wrote about all of these movies individually when they were released. I’m too lazy to link to all of them here. Search for them in the search box if you’re interested. I also slowed down a bit on seeing movies in the last couple months. A lot of movies are starting to run together. Even the ones that are good. It’s so disappointing to me that small independent movies are starting to get just as boring and formulaic as big blockbusters. Maybe I’ll catch some on Netflix or whatever. If you feel passionate about a movie I missed let me know in the comments jklol no one ever reads these let alone leaves a comment.

Much Ado About Nothing
I still feel great about this movie a couple months later. It’ll be interesting to see if it gets any awards heat. I doubt it.

Fruitvale Station
I was a little disappointed that this one didn’t seem to catch on much with a big audience. Maybe if you’re not from the Bay Area it doesn’t resonate as strongly. Either way, I hope this becomes the template for movies like this. Avoiding moralizing and overreaching. I was impressed with Ryan Coogler. Looking forward to more from him.

Computer Chess
This is the kind of weird movie I wish there were more of. I don’t even know if I would call it good, but it was totally captivating.

Blue Jasmine
I wonder what someone would think of this if they’d never seen a Woody Allen movie before. Would they love it or hate it? What would they think of all the little Woody Allen things? Maybe I’ll try to get my sister to watch it on DVD or something and ask. She’s probably one of millions of twentysomethings who’ve never seen a Woody Allen movie. This horrible younger generation etc.

The Canyons
I’m still amazed at how bad this was.

In a World…
Fine. Entertaining. Some good performances. Etc. This is a pretty good example of the formulaicity I was talking about.

Closed Circuit
Sort of the spy movie version of In a World… .It was good and everything, but what’s memorable or interesting or unexpected about it?

The Spectacular Now
Shailene Woodley is a star. I heard she had to turn down the lead in Fifty Shades of Grey because of a scheduling conflict. That would have been interesting. But that movie will probably be interesting regardless.

Short Term 12
Maybe the best case scenario for this kind of suburban Landmark Theaters-friendly independent movie. Brie Larson and Kaitlyn Dever were great.

Prisoners
The New Yorker blurb compares this one to Mystic River and Zodiac. Zodiac is a good comparison, in a general feel/tone/Gyllenhaal way. Zodiac is the better movie. I actually watched Zodiac again recently. It was nominated for zero Oscars. That seems dumb to me, especially after the way everyone loved Argo last year for being a big expensive good studio movie. It wasn’t anywhere near as good as Zodiac. Maybe it was as good as Prisoners. I should stop thinking about Argo.

Leave a Reply

