Comedy writing

9 May

Jimmy: Steve, this is my old friend Holden. Holden, Steve.

Steve: Pleasure to meet you Holden. You know, you don’t see too many Holdens around these days.

Holden: Yeah, my parents were big Sunset Boulevard fans.

Steve: Huh?

Holden: Yeah, personally I thought All About Eve was the better film, but they don’t let you name yourself.

 

Yesterday I looked up A Mighty Wind on imdb. The third result for that particular search is a 1993 short called I Killed My Lesbian Wife, Hung Her on a Meat Hook, and Now I Have a Three-Picture Deal at Disney. I naturally clicked on the link for that short. The director? Ben Affleck. Wow. I looked at Ben Affleck’s page. He was in Chasing Amy. In that movie he played a character named Holden. I thought, “Wouldn’t it be funny if your name was Holden but instead of Holden Caulfield you were actually named after William Holden?” This is just how easy it is to write comedy. String together 90 minutes of gems like this, and I’ll have a hit bigger than The Hangover.

Leave a Reply

