2013: The year in film

17 Jan

I’m not a person who spends his time reading movie news and I rarely know anything about upcoming movies. Most of my info comes from seeing trailers at the theater. I’d almost say that I try to avoid such news. I won’t be reading anything about Sundance, I never read the festival recaps from various critics, etc. I guess I would just prefer to wait until movies are soon-to-be-released before I spend my time getting excited for them. That being said, here are three movies that I know about and am looking forward to this year.

Spring Breakers
What if I told you that the star of this movie was Selena Gomez and the co-stars are other Disneyish hot young actress types. What kind of movie do you think this would be? The plot is that a group of girls rob a restaurant to pay for their spring break trip, does that change your impression? Probably not much. What if I told you that the movie was written and directed by Harmony Korine? Change your mind? Do you not know who Mr. Korine is? He’s the creative mind behind such movies as Kids and Gummo. I can’t wait to see what this movie is all about. It also features James Franco playing a character based on Riff Raff. I really can’t wait. One other thing I can’t wait for: the reaction of Selena Gomez fans to this movie.

I don’t think the host of this vapid Hollywood news YouTube channel is ready for this movie

If you’ve never seen a Riff Raff video before you’re in for a treat

Here’s Harmony Korine being a weirdo on Letterman many years ago

The Great Gatsby

I saw the trailer for this recently. Baz Luhrmann’s Great Gatsby looks like it’ll be pretty similar to Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet.* It even stars Leonardo DiCaprio. He’s even wearing the famous pink Gatsby suit. And it’s in 3D. I honestly don’t think this movie will be all that good, but it’ll definitely be interesting. This is a hard book to film. There was a version in the 70s with Robert Redford as Gatsby. I don’t think very many people have seen it. I’ve certainly never heard mention of it anywhere. I can’t think of an argument why this one will be better than that one from a storytelling standpoint, although I think Mr. Luhrmann’s visual interpretation of things will hold my interest if nothing else.

*Using a + instead of the word and in your title is obnoxious

The Canyons

canyons
I remember hearing rumblings about this one last year. Then I saw this tweet from Lena Dunham and my interest was reignited. Read the whole New York Times Magazine article. Fascinating stuff.

Screenwriter and increasingly unhinged Twitter personality Bret Easton Ellis apparently hates how the movie turned out

One Response to “2013: The year in film”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The New Yorker: August 5, 2013 | The Pensive Years - August 7, 2013

    […] Three reviews by David Denby. I don’t think I’m going to see The To Do List. I like Aubrey Plaza a lot, but this movie just looks kind of…stupid. Sorry. I think I’m past the point of my life where I can enjoy teen comedies. I’ve heard good things about The Spectacular Now. Shailene Woodley was the best part of The Descendants. I might check that out. Maybe I can still do a teen romance. And I’m very excited about The Canyons. I don’t think it’ll be good, really. Still excited. One of the few movies I mentioned in my 2013 film preview. […]

Leave a Reply

